Epworth Forest Pier Administration Committee Meeting Minutes

December 14, 2010

MEMBERS PRESENT: Greg Gaither, Ruth Buell, Ron Erb, Nick Yarde and Brian Yahne **REMC REPRESENTATIVES PRESENT:** Nicole Totzke, Brian Harding

REMC recognized Dewey Senger's advisory role was coming to a close. Dewey was provided the opportunity to voice his thoughts before leaving the meeting. Greg Gaither recognized Dewey for his service, commented that the PAC respects his opinion, thanked him for his time and effort and stated that the PAC will take his parting words into consideration.

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order at 10:34am

The Committee approved the minutes of the November 23, 2010 Pier Administration Committee Meeting as presented.

OLD BUSINESS:

Revised Lakefront Plan: REMC presented the shoreline plan based on the criteria discussed at last meeting noting that 12 pier assignments will need reassigning, 37 pier assignments require shifting or adjusting and identified approximately 50 additional vacant pier assignments. Discussion ensued. After each member had a chance to voice their opinion, the committee determined the most fair and objective way to choose which pier assignment in the identified areas (when more than one off-shore pier existed in said areas) should be reassigned to a new location was to be selected by random drawing or coin toss, so as not to favor any one assignment or assignee. A member of the camp staff was asked to assist.

In the area where 31A (Emerson), 30A (Glassburn) and 31B (Schaumleffel) exist, two must be reassigned. By drawing conducted by the camp staff member, the pier assignments to be reassigned are 31A and 30A. Pier assignment 31B shall remain in the general area with appropriate adjustments.

In the area where 31D (Krugh) and 32A (Erb) exist, one must be reassigned. By coin toss conducted by the camp staff member, the pier assignment to be reassigned is 31D. Pier assignment 32A shall remain in the general area with appropriate adjustments.

In the area where 40A (Dixon) and 40B (Schurr) exist, one must be reassigned. By coin toss conducted by the camp staff member, the pier assignment to be reassigned is 40A. Pier assignment 40B shall remain in the general area with appropriate adjustments.

In the area where 45A (Rogers) and 45D (Lawrence) exist, one must be reassigned. By coin toss conducted by the camp staff member, the pier assignment to be reassigned is 45A. Pier assignment 40B shall remain in the general area with appropriate adjustments.

In the area where 54A (Clifton), 48A (Yahne), 48B (Mayhew), 48C (Anson), 48D (Ulerick) and 49A (Kennedy) exist, one must be reassigned. By drawing conducted by the camp staff member, the pier assignment to be reassigned is 54A. Pier assignments 48A (Yahne), 48B (Mayhew), 48C (Anson), 48D (Ulerick) and 49A (Kennedy) shall remain in the general area with appropriate adjustments. As pier assignment 54A was moved to this location just last year with the understanding that if this space did not work out, they would be moved back to their original location. As such, this assignment shall be moved back to its original location on the Turner shoreline, therefore displacing assignment 53A (Klinger). Pier assignment 53A shall be reassigned to a new location.

In addition to the six assignees above, the PAC identified the following off-shore assignments to be reassigned to new locations: **25A** (Senger), **29B** (Harris), **37B** (Dingledine), **40C** (Schlaugenhauf), **44A** (Turpin), and **59B** (Eikenberry). Nick Yarde made a motion to reassign the 12 identified pier assignments geographically by assignee address to the identified new locations beginning west to east. Seconded by Greg Gaither. Four in favor. One not in favor. Motion carried.

The PAC determined that ownership of a lot shall determine the eligibility for a pier assignment, depending on availability and waiting list. As such, those offshore assignees that have current pier assignments who do not own a whole lot shall be eliminated and those owning more than one lot shall have the option to request an assignment for each lot (subject to available space). In addition, on-shore assignees that own more that one onshore lot (i.e. double lot) shall have the option to an additional onshore pier assignment along their owned shorefront.

The PAC determined that those onshore owners that own less than 24 feet of shoreline frontage shall be allotted a pier assignment up to the limited frontage owned (i.e. if 22 feet is owned the onshore assignment shall be up to 22 feet wide). If an onshore owner owns less than 16 feet of shoreline, that onshore owner shall be allotted at least 16 feet for their onshore assignment.

All documentation of lot and lakefront ownership shall be acquired from the Kosciusko County mapping database.

With the logic outlined above, the PAC determined that pier space 37C (Kato) was assigned to a half lot and shall be eliminated. On-shore owner Horcher, owning 2 on-shore lots, shall be allotted an onshore pier assignment for the additional lot. Onshore owner Doles, owning 2 onshore lots, shall be allotted the full 24 feet for assignment 47B. Onshore owner Boyer, owning 5 ft of shoreline, shall adjust to 16ft for their assigned space.

Consideration of 2011 Draft Budgets: Greg Gaither made a motion to approve the budgets as presented. Seconded by Ruth Buell. At this point in the meeting, two members were no longer available to vote due to time constraints. Three remaining members in favor. Motion carried and the budgets were approved as presented.

REMC will deliver a general notification to all owners with assigned lake access notifying all of the upcoming changes. Included with the letter will be the 2011 pier fee invoices and the approved 2011 budget. REMC will deliver separate communication to the effected owners regarding the specific approved changes as identified above.

NEW BUSINESS: The PAC identified the following committee member terms.

Ron Erb – Appointed 2008 / Term Expires - 2011
Brian Yahne – Appointed 2010 / Term Expires 2013
Greg Gaither – Appointed 2008 / Term Expires - 2011
Nick Yarde – Appointed 2010 / Term Expires 2013
Ruth Buell – Appointed 2010 to fill vacancy left by Tom Ross / Term Expires 2010

The PAC agreed to reappoint Ruth Buell for an additional 3 year term.

Ruth Buell – Reappointed to new 3 year term beginning 2011 / Term Expires 2014

ADJOURNMENT - Meeting was adjourned at 12:40pm. Next meeting TBD.